Fruity overnight oats – Redcurrant

Overnight oats is my most favourite breakfast to-go for any day of the week. Sometimes I mix a few jars and be set for all breakfasts of the week, or just mix them in quickly the night before and take the jar to work. It is really convenient and almost a no brainer: I take a look at what fruits I have lying around in the kitchen and just mix it in quickly with the oats and chia seeds. It is such a nice thing to enjoy in the morning: creamy, sweet but not too sweet, cold and refreshing and pure.
My favourite glutenfree breakfast - overnight oats with fresh berries

I started playing around with plant based milks and yoghurts lately (as you might have seen in my pervious post about Raspberry-white chocolate cake as well). I love the rich taste and creaminess that it adds to the oats, and even though they are not really sweet, the yoghurt is slightly sweetened, so I find this combination perfect as it is. If you prefer your oats a little sweeter feel free to add a teaspoon of honey to your mix or just add more fruits.

0NDW_2887 - Copy

Saturdays are the best days of the week, going to the market gives me lots of inspiration and fills me with energy. Lately I am having a pretty successful roll on going to the market every Saturday. We are lucky enough to live near the two best markets of Amsterdam that are taking place right next to each other where you can get anything your heart desires. The Lindenmarkt has all the goodies you need for your everydays, you can find top quality no fuss line of veggies, cheese and fish here. However, the smaller fancier Noordermarkt has local, biological and partly delicate specialities such as the ever changing array of edible flowers.

Helathy glutenfree breakfast - overnight oats with goosberry

So as you might have noticed, this week`s stars are the redcurrants.  These delicious little tart ruby red berries are full of vitamin C. They make a perfect addition to this creamy mix of overnight oats creating a refreshing and healthy breakfast.

The ultimate summer breakfast - no fuss overnight oats with redcurrants

As you can see on the pictures I have lots of fun with my new camera, I adore the amazing quality pictures it can make but I have still plenty to learn. I am pretty happy for the moment, sometimes just looking at the ruby reds of the redcurrants in the morning sunlight captured on one of these photos are enough to give me the shivers.

Helathy glutenfree breakfast - overnight oats with fresh berries

Overnight oats (for one portion)

  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 5 tablespoon rolled oats (use gluten free if intolerant)
  • 3 tablespoons yoghurt (I used coconut-soy yoghurt)
  • 6 tablespoons milk (I used coconut-rice milk)
  • A handful of redcurrant (can use any berries – fresh or even frozen,it will defrost during the soak)

Mix all ingredients in a jar, make sure that there are no clumps of chia seeds left. Let it rest overnight or for at least 3 hours. Top it with some extra redcurrants if you like. Drizzle it with some honey if you prefer it sweeter.

2 thoughts on “Fruity overnight oats – Redcurrant

  1. Pingback: Simple banana-oat cookies – paint-the-plate

  2. Pingback: Hot choc(oats) – paint-the-plate

Leave a Reply

